Skip to main content

Exit WCAG Theme

Switch to Non-ADA Website

Accessibility Options

Select Text Sizes

Select Text Color

Website Accessibility Information Close Options
Close Menu
Robert E. Craven & Associates Rhode Island Personal Injury Attorney

Rhode Island Personal Injury FAQs

How do I know if I need an attorney?

If you or a family member experiences an injury, you can benefit from speaking to an Rhode Island injury attorney at Robert E. Craven & Associates today. Often the insurance company for the person who caused the injury will try to settle with you before you have an opportunity to retain an attorney. The reason for this is that the insurance company knows it can probably settle the case for less money if you do not have a lawyer. We will investigate your case and obtain the necessary witness statements, documents, photographs and other materials to protect your rights. Unlike many RI lawyers, we do not accept the insurance company’s first offer. We zealously advocate on your behalf to obtain the results that you deserve.

How much does your firm charge?

  • We offer an initial no obligation, FREE consultation.
  • There are NO COSTS up-front for personal injury cases at Robert E. Craven & Associates. We handle personal injury cases on a contingency-basis, meaning we do not charge the client anything and are only compensated if we obtain a recovery for you!
  • We will advance all costs for investigators, experts, filing fees and other expenses associated with obtaining the maximum recovery possible. Those advances are recoverable.

Will I meet with a lawyer?

Yes. At the initial consultation, a lawyer from Robert E. Craven & Associates will meet with you personally. We believe it is important to take the time to meet with our clients personally to discuss the case and plan how we’ll work for you. Throughout the remainder of our representation of you our lawyers will prepare your case, negotiate with the insurance company, and obtain a recovery for you.

What if I am not able to come to your office?

In the event your injury prevents you from traveling to our office, a representative from Robert E. Craven & Associates will meet with you at your house, the hospital, or any meeting place you designate. We understand that you have suffered from a personal injury and we want to make the process as easy as possible for you and your family.

Are you available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week?

Yes. Our law firm is staffed in such a way that our RI personal injury lawyers can be reached 24 hours per day, 7 days per week. If appropriate, this employee can contact a firm attorney seven days a week at any time. We are ready, willing, and able to discuss a claim with you 24/7.

Will I have to go to court?

No. If the insurance company for the person who caused the injury is willing to offer a fair settlement, you do not have to bring a lawsuit in order to obtain a recovery. We are skilled at negotiating settlements without filing a lawsuit. In the event the insurance company is not willing to negotiate fairly, we will then proceed with filing a lawsuit if you so desire.

Who may bring an action for damages in a personal injury case?

A competent adult, who is over the age of 18 and injured, must bring the lawsuit in their name. A minor or an incompetent adult must have suit brought by either their parents or a court-appointed guardian.

How much money is my case worth?

There is no personal injury case that is too big or too small for Robert E. Craven & Associates to handle. We examine all of the conditions surrounding your case in order to arrive at a figure that we believe the insurance company must pay for your injuries. These conditions include how the accident happened, what injuries you suffered, future medical problems, the amount of medical expenses and lost income, as well as future medical costs and future loss of income. We study every detail so that we can get you the money you deserve for your injuries.

How long do I have to bring a case?

You must file your case within the Statute of Limitations, a fixed period of time dictated by the law. In many injury cases you are required to bring your case within two or three years from the date of the event that caused the injury. For an explanation of these time limits, always consult with a lawyer experienced in these matters.

I was injured but may have been partly at fault. Can I still sue?

Yes. Under Rhode Island’s comparative negligence rules, you may still have a case even though you were partly at fault in causing an accident. These cases are very fact-specific and you should consult with a lawyer.

An insurance adjuster wants to settle and says I do not need lawyer. Should I get one?

Remember whom the adjuster works for: an insurance company. They have one goal: to settle your case for the least amount of money possible. What may seem like a fair offer to you could fall far short of any amount of money settled through a lawyer. It is a good idea to consult with an attorney at Craven Law before accepting any offer made to you by an insurance company.

Will my insurance rates go up if I pursue a claim or obtain a recovery?

No. Based on the information insurance agents and insurance carriers provide us, simply because an injured person pursues a claim does not mean that their insurance premium will be increased. It is when a person’s negligent or wrongful acts cause injury that their own insurance premiums are increased.

Share This Page:
Facebook Twitter LinkedIn

By submitting this form I acknowledge that form submissions via this website do not create an attorney-client relationship, and any information I send is not protected by attorney-client privilege.

Skip footer and go back to main navigation