How Much is My Personal Injury Case Worth in Rhode Island?
If you have sustained injuries as a result of someone else’s negligence, you might be wondering how much your personal injury case is worth. It is vital to consult with a Rhode Island personal injury attorney to help you calculate all damages and losses in your case to make sure that you receive the maximum compensation to which you are entitled.
Schedule a consultation with our attorneys at Robert E. Craven & Associates to determine the value of your injury claim in Rhode Island. Call 401-453-2700 to get a case review.
How to calculate the value of your personal injury case?
When it comes to determining the value of your personal injury case in Rhode Island, it is vital to look at the following damages and losses:
- Medical expenses. You are entitled to full compensation for your past and future medical expenses, including the cost of medical treatment, surgery, therapy, and rehabilitation, expenses associated with transportation to a hospital, prescription medication costs, and many more.
- Lost wages. If you had to miss work as a result of your injury, you could obtain compensation for the loss of income. The recoverable amount of lost wages depends on whether your disability is temporary or permanent and whether you can work in any capacity while recovering.
- Pain and suffering. These damages are a non-economic category of damages that do not have a specific monetary value. It can be difficult to estimate pain and suffering damages without a knowledgeable attorney.
At Robert E. Craven & Associates, our personal injury lawyers are dedicated to helping our clients understand how much money they can receive to compensate for their injuries and losses. Let our attorney review the details of your case to estimate the value of your claim.
What other factors affect the value of your claim?
Several factors affect the value of your personal injury claim in Rhode Island. It is vital to consider the following two factors when calculating how much your claim is worth:
- Your degree of fault. Rhode Island adopted the pure comparative negligence law, which means your recoverable damages are diminished in proportion to your fault. Under the doctrine of pure comparative negligence, you can receive compensation even if you were mostly at fault for the accident. For example, if you were deemed 80% at fault for a car accident and you suffered $10,000 in damages, you would be entitled to only $2,000.
- Insurance policy limits. It is equally important to consider the at-fault party’s insurance policy limits. If the at-fault party does not have enough insurance coverage to cover all of your losses, you may be able to pursue a personal injury lawsuit to recover additional compensation. Speak with a lawyer to explore your options.
It is important to discuss your case with an experienced personal injury attorney in Rhode Island to determine the value of your claim properly. Contact Robert E. Craven & Associates to schedule a case evaluation and find out how much your personal injury case is worth. Call 401-453-2700 today.