Close Menu
Rhode Island Personal Injury Attorney
You Don't Pay Unless We Recover 401-453-2700
Rhode Island Personal Injury Attorney / Blog / General / Refusal to Submit to a Chemical Test – RI DUI & Refusal Lawyers

Refusal to Submit to a Chemical Test – RI DUI & Refusal Lawyers

DUI Lawyer RI, Refusal law riIf you’ve been charged with Refusal to Submit to a Chemical Test in Rhode Island, you need an experienced, aggressive, and successful attorney on your side. The attorneys at Robert E. Craven & Associates successfully handle DUI and Refusal cases on a daily basis throughout the state.

Refusal to Submit to a Chemical Test

When you refuse a chemical test you are committing a civil offense in Rhode Island. Our state is known as an “implied consent state” meaning if you operate a motor vehicle within Rhode Island, the law deems you to have given consent to a chemical test of your breath, blood, and/or urine for determining the presence of alcohol or drugs. A police officer may request that you submit to a chemical test based solely on a “reasonable suspicion” that you are under the influence of liquor or a controlled substance.

If you refuse to submit to a chemical test in RI, a judge may order your license immediately suspended and impose various penalties.

Penalties for Refusal to Submit to a Chemical Test

Rhode Island law provides various penalties for a First Refusal, including:

  • Fine: $200 – $500
  • Community Service: 10 – 60 hours
  • License Suspension 6 – 12 months
  • DUI School or Substance Abuse Counseling
  • Installation of an Ignition Interlock System
For a Second Refusal in Rhode Island, the penalties can include:

  • Jail: Up to 6 months
  • Fine: $600 – $1,000
  • Community Service: 60 – 100 hours
  • License Suspension 12 – 24 months
  • DUI School or Substance Abuse Counseling
  • Installation of an Ignition Interlock System
Don’t let these penalties become a reality. Our attorneys eliminate and lessen these penalties for clients on a regular basis.

Why you need a DUI/Refusal Lawyer

DUI Lawyer RI, Refusal law riOur attorneys handle DUI and Refusal cases daily in all Rhode Island courts. We know all the defenses associated with RI DUI and Refusal law and are ready to advocate on your behalf. Some attorneys may not know that there are alternatives to licenses suspensions that allow you to drive despite a DUI or Refusal. Let our experience create results for you.

Call our attorneys for a free consultation and case evaluation appointment today!

Facebook Twitter LinkedIn
Contact Us phone: 401-453-2700 fax: 401-453-1910 Office Hours:
9:00am - 6:00pm (M-F)
Visit Us

7405 Post Road
North Kingstown, RI 02852

Get Directions
Follow Us
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • LinkedIn